As a food manufacturer and co-packer, it is important that WN Foods stays up to date on the different types of dietary restrictions that our clients and customers may require. We keep a comprehensive list in our lab, but today we’re looking at just a few common types you may or may not know. (Side note: if you have questions about our products and the dietary restrictions they meet, please reach out to email@example.com!)
People following a vegan diet do not eat any animal products. This includes not only meat, but also dairy, eggs, and any other non-plant-based food products. Many non-vegan ingredients can be substituted for vegan versions such as almond milk, cashew cheese, and tofurky. Most vegan products are explicitly marked on the packaging as being vegan, but double checking is always recommended.
Gluten is dangerous for people with a gluten allergy (the immune system overreacting to foods containing wheat) or Celiac disease (the body responding to gluten by creating an immune response that attacks the small intestines). This means they cannot eat bread, pasta, or any other product containing gluten. There are many gluten-free options or substitutes available, but it can still be difficult for people with these dietary restrictions to avoid gluten entirely.
Many people associate peanut allergies with children, but people from all ages can be affected by this allergy. Peanuts can cause any allergic reaction from itching to nausea to anaphylaxis, so avoiding food products containing peanuts can be a matter of life and death for people with a peanut allergy. Even small amounts of peanuts or peanut oil can cause reactions, so it is advised to always check ingredient lists and see if products have been manufactured in facilities that handle peanuts.
Dairy products should not be consumed by people with dairy allergies (allergic reactions to the proteins in milk) or lactose intolerance (the inability to digest lactose due to a lack of the enzyme lactase). Milk, butter, yogurt, and any food product with these ingredients are unsafe for people with a dairy allergy, but people with lactose intolerance may be able to consume aged cheese or other dairy products with extremely low lactose content.
Some religions restrict the types of foods their followers may eat. These include but are not limited to…
- Buddhism (vegetarian diet)
- Islam (may not consume pork or alcohol, and all other foods must be halal/prepared in accordance with Islam)
- Judaism (see here for a list of dietary restrictions in the Jewish faith)
If you are looking for a food co-packer that works with your dietary restrictions, please contact us to see if we can accommodate your needs!
Here at WN Foods, we co-pack high quality sauces, cooked with the finest ingredients. If you would like us to manufacture your sauce recipe, or if you would like our food science team to help you develop your own sauce, please contact us at (510) 487-8877 or firstname.lastname@example.org.